OLD TIMES AGAIN

10 09 2012

Old times were not necessarily any better than now, just different. Did you know that it was not common practice to use a hair brush to brush your hair?  We all used combs.  And the latest thing was the rat tail comb.  I very well remember those!  I had this frizzy, fine hair that after combing just frizzed right back up again. When I was in grammar school and before, my grandmother combed my hair every morning.  And then she braided it, although we called it plaiting it.  I hated that!

She would comb through my hair and of course it bounced right back into tangles again.  And she combed and combed until I was crying every morning and hitting her on the knees.  I sat in a small chair at her knee height and had to endure this torture every day.  She did the best she could as she was always, always a very kind sweet woman. But it still hurt.  My head ached from the pulling of my hair.  But it had to be combed and so that is what she did.  

Hair brushes came into popularity much later than that. After I was at least 15 or older.  Of course we always got a machine permanent before we started school each year.  This was a big deal, too.  Another day of enduring sheer torture while my hair was washed, combed, rolled up on machine rollers, and then cooked. Afterwards my hair was even more frizzed.  In fact, I looked like Orphan Annie and that was definitely not the look I was wishing for.  Hated that!  I wanted to look beautiful like the movie stars with their pageboy long sleek hair.  And mine was a frizzed mop standing straight up on top of my head.  

Then it was combed and combed again so I looked even worse.  But everyone in the know talked about how beautiful I was.  Bull!  I didn’t think so at all.  But getting back to the hairbrushes:  Every time I see a rat tail comb, I want to scream at someone for the many times that comb hurt my head. But somehow I survived and I got a new hairbrush when I was old enough to warrant one and after that, I never, ever had to endure that torture of having my hair combed by anyone.  

In fact, If you want to know a cure for all that, just fix up a spray bottle of half apple cider vinegar and half water and spray your hair before combing or brushing.  It makes all the tangles come right out and the hair will be nice and smooth.  Also, it will keep your hair in its natural color and not let it turn gray.  And that is real plus.  

You can read all about those old times in my books, you know.  Just order from BET  P.O. Box 2249, Benton,AR  72018.  They are all well worth the cost of $10 each plus $2 postage.   Or you can buy any 3 for $25 including postage.  Really great books and full of humor and living history.

#2503 is all about the 30’s, 40’s and 50’s.  In The 1940’s is obviously all about the 1940’s and the World War II years and how different our life was.  The Wonderful 1950’s is about the changing times during those truly wonderful years.  And then I have a great cookbook that leads you through cooking for a family.  If you want good, nutritious, crowd pleasing recipes, they are in this book.  They are also quick and very easy with lots of tips to help you along the way. And I also have a newer book entitled The Real Story which tells of my father who was born into terrible poverty and his rise to be quite successful.  My husband’s story is also there about how he conquered his alcoholism and became very successful.  Give any of my books a try.  

The books also make wonderful gifts for ages 8 through 85.  Anyone on your Christmas list would love one!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

