STILL BEING GOOFY

27 04 2012

I am always having goofy things happen to me.  Not my fault either.  No way!  Just happens to me when I’m not looking.  Anyway, I washed my everyday sneakers and put on another pair out of the closet.  Some of them are very old.  I have been buying the same kind for years and wear them for everyday stuff.  It doesn’t matter which two I pick out because they all match.

Anyway, after I washed the shoes I put them in the garage to dry as usual.   Then I went on about my business.

After a few days, I began to notice that things just weren’t right with me.  I stumbled around a few times.  And dragged one foot occasionally.  I noticed this but didn’t put much emphasis on it.  Then I had some pain in my heel and the ball of my foot, not anything spectacular, just a small twinge now and then.  I also had some pain in my ankle.  This disturbed me a little more because I really began to notice it.  When I was a kid, I was always turning my ankle when I played outside.  This felt pretty much the same.

I normally don’t have much in the way of aches and pains so I really began to notice all this.  And then I started having trouble with my balance.  I was getting very concerned and felt like old age had finally crept up on me.  But surely not.  I am not that old and wouldn’t be having all these things relating to old age.  But, as I said, I was getting just a little bit concerned.  I never related any of this to each other though, so didn’t see any pattern specifically.

Then my sock slipped down into my shoe and I sat down in a kitchen chair and pulled my shoe off to straighten the sock.  When I did, I noticed that I had written in big letters on the inside of the shoe – 9-1/2.   I normally wear a size 9. I remembered getting the wrong size a long time ago.  I guess this was one of those shoes.  I thought I had given them  away.  But here was one that says clearly 9-1/2.

Then it dawned on my goofy brain that I had been wearing a shoe too large and that was why I was dragging my foot, having trouble with my balance and stumbling around.  It was also the reason for the aches and pains I had been having.  I was very relieved and glad I had written in my shoe.  I guess that was to tell me not to wear it as it was the wrong size.  Wouldn’t think that a little thing like that would make me so lopsided that I would have all those seemingly unrelated problems.

Oh well, never know with me.  Just another of those goofy things that seem to lurk around the corner and jump on me when I’m not looking.  Really not my fault you know.  Never is.  Don’t know who to blame it on but I’m sure I’ll think of someone.  Meanwhile, another goofy thing out of the way in this life of mine.

I’ll put that one size 9-1/2 shoe in the rag bag and I’ll just bet that anyone who gets that will wonder why in the world there is one size 9-1/2 shoe.  They will think someone is goofy for sure.  And I usually am.

 

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

