DEAR GOD: HOLD ONTO MY HAND AND NEVER LET GO

16 03 2012

I have heard it said all my life that if you will just give yourself over to God, He will hold you tightly by the hand and lead throughout all your life.  That is a little hard to understand and even harder to swallow.  How can you just do that.  Who is going to really take care of you every single day.  Well, of course, that is not intended to tell you just to sit down and make yourself comfortable and then God will take care of you all the time.  Because more than likely, people forget the other side of that coin and that is that  God helps those who help themselves.  So, you see, you gotta’ do your part all the time, too.  If you expect God to take care of you every single day of your life, then you have to live your life to the very best of your abilities every day.  Simple tradeoff. And it does work.

My husband and I had a great marriage and several children.  And then alcohol sort of worked its way into his life and he became a different person.  And our marriage went downhill big time.  I knew nothing of his addiction and did not realize what the real problem was.  He hid his drinking so I knew nothing about it.  Never even suspected this was a problem in our life.

But he was only interested in one thing and that was the alcohol.  I was interested in having a nice life, raising great children, paying bills and living the way people are supposed to.  As time marched on, he became more addicted and thus less of a person.  Not interested in living that nice life, nor in paying any bills either.  And then, I finally realized what the problem was and that was the end of that.

Because of help from AA and Alanon, we were able to scratch our way to the surface once again.  At this time, I had a tiny baby as well as several other children.  I began stopping by the local Catholic Church every day if I had a car to drive and if it ran.  I would only stay a minute, but took all those children and stopped to tell God thank you for all that He had done for me in my life and to tell Him whatever was going on today.  And I did that over and over again, spending at least 10 to 15 minutes before His Presence every day. Just enough to keep me going.  I was determined to have that good life again and I knew that God would get me there.  I not only placed my hand in His Hand, but I offered everything in my life to Him.

Gradually, very gradually our lives turned around again.  And I knew in my heart that God was the One in charge.  He was the One who made it all happen.  We did come back to that good life once again.  My husband started his own business and became very successful.   We had several more children and paid off all bills and were never in debt again, ever.  We also were able to provide well for our children and live in nice homes and drive nice cars and wear nice clothing.

All this was because I turned my life over to God and gave Him the reins to lead me and guide me on. And He did.

I tell this story in my latest book, THE REAL STORY.  Not only is this story in there – and it is very interesting in its detail – but there is also a chapter about my father who came up from abject poverty to be one of the most powerful people in our State.  And it also tells the REAL story about the 1957 crisis at Little Rock High School in 1957 and this is not the story as sent out by the media.

All my books are $10 each plus $2 postage.  Order through Amazon or send check or money order to BET   P.O. Box 2249, Benton,AR  72018.   I also sell my books 3 for $25, same postage.    Thanks, Bet

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

