CALLING MY MOTHER

24 02 2012

You are always hearing the phrase, Call Your Mother.  Today I thought of that incident in my life and thought I would tell you about it.

One of my sons and wife had a new baby one morning.  I rushed to the hospital to see the new arrival and then i rushed home to call my Mother and tell her about this wonderful new great grandchild she had.  Only thing was that my Mother had died several years before this.  But, all that day, no matter what I was doing, I kept thinking that I needed to call Mother and tell her about that wonderful new baby.

I would be cooking or washing dishes or sweeping the floor or even driving the car and that thought kept pounding in my brain.  Later in the afternoon, I even went to the phone, picked up the receiver and started to dial her number when I realized once again that I could not call her.

I don’t know why I had such a compulsion to call her that day.  The baby was so exciting to me and I just knew she would want to know all about it.  But over and over again, I had to remind myself that I could not call her.  Not that day nor any other day.

Sure will be glad when I can talk to her again.   I have a lot of things to tell her about this wonderful family of mine.  She will be so excited. And it will be such fun to have that conversation.

Actions

Information

One response

24 02 2012
SR

I loved this post. Thank you so much for sharing and reminding me I should not let a day go by without calling my parents and sharing something with them. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

