LAUGH! LAUGH! LAUGH!

22 01 2012

When raising a house full of kids, you soon learn that you have a choice.  You can either laugh about things or you can go crazy.  And the choice is strictly up to you.  I choose to Laugh and Laugh and Laugh some more.  No wonder I’m half crazy. But it is o.k.   I don’t care if people talk about me.  Everything is o.k. every single day.

Just this week, I was missing a bath mat from a bathroom.  Could not find it anywhere.  Now, how does anyone lose a bath mat.  I asked all the children and all the children denied knowing anything at all about that stupid bath mat.  So, after looking through all the house, up and down and around, I finally gave up.  Decided the bath mat had just finally had enough and walked away.

I kept mentioning it now and then though and finally one of the children said, ‘Stop talking about the bath mat, Mom.’  This told me she probably had something to do with its disappearance.  I finally asked her if she threw it away.  She said, ‘Yes, I did.  It was about worn out.’  The garbage truck had just come yesterday, so I knew the bath mat had gone to that never, never land of the city dump.  Oh well, guess I would have to replace it when I get around to doing so.

But then, I remembered the rule of the lost items and it is that they almost always reappear when you least expect them.

That brought to mind when I lost a baby shoe many years ago.  And on the doctor appointment week, too. Could not take that poor baby out in the cold without a shoe, so tore up the house looking for the shoe.  Everyone helped but we never could find that shoe.  Had to buy another pair in order to take the baby to the doctor.  I could not afford it at the time but had no choice.  Then a week later, the shoe showed up in the toy box in the kid’s bedroom.  Now, we had torn that room apart and certainly had looked in that toy box a dozen times.  But, as I said, lost items almost always reappear when you least expect them.

And then there was the time my son lost his Sunday shoe on Saturday.  He was walking home from the local swimming pool and made it home with only one shoe.  Now, tomorrow was Sunday and he had to have that shoe to wear to church.  People might frown on a boy with only one shoe.  So, after discerning that he was carrying it home from the pool because he had left his tennis shoes in the pool area the day before and had worn the Sunday shoe to the pool and was carrying it home, then we set out to find it.  Sure enough after driving slowly along the area where he had been walking, he remembered dropping his items in a pile of leaves while he tied his now- on-  his -foot tennis shoe. Then he fished around in the nearby pile of leaves and sure enough, there was his Sunday shoe. See, like I said, those lost items always manage to show up when and where you least expect them.

So, I have learned to laugh and laugh and laugh some more at incidents like this one.

And sure enough, just yesterday, that bath mat was right there in the pile of dirty clothes.  Now, no one knows where it came from nor how it got there.  But, that bath mat knows.  It is a shame it cannot talk and tell us where it had been.  Such is life.  Laugh about it.  Why not.  Laugh or go crazy.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

