A HOUSE OR A HOME?

11 01 2012

I read every day about the lovely houses for sale in my area.  Some of them are actual mansions fit for a king and queen.  But it makes me wonder about all these things.  Are these houses or homes?  Some have as many as 3 separate living areas.  Why?  I have been told that the reason for separate living areas is so the children can watch their programs or play the computer games, etc.   If I am in my living area, I want my children to be there, too. When we are all relaxing, why would I want my other family members to be in another room.  Much better to share the minutes and hours with each other.  How else do you get to really know each other.  I don’t mind watching games or watching the children enjoy themselves.   What is the big deal. I can always catch up on the news or weather later. Much better to share this time together.

When I was growing up, we didn’t have a separate living area nor did we have 8 bathrooms or whatever it might be today.  Why would my mother have wanted to clean all those.   And I want to share my kitchen with the children also.  I want them to enjoy their home.  This is what makes a home, not the number of rooms nor the rock or brick or mortar.  Nor the specially designed counter tops.

This is our home!  Not a house, but a real home where we can all share our time together.  We complain to each other of course.  Everyone does now and then.    But we still share our time and our thoughts with each other.  This is why our home is such a special place.  And this is why our children want to come home each day.  They prefer it here, not at a friend’s house.

Some days, I sure would like to go home again.  Back to where I grew up in that typical family consisting of a mother, father, sister, brother and grandmother.  It was a really great place to be all the time.  It was nice and happy, with the exception of the daily quarrels that all children have about chores and what to wear. But it was a place to share together while we were building a real family.  Wish I could open that screen door and go in to be with all of them just one more time.  Sure would be nice.

If  you want to experience some of that special family time that we lived during the late 30’s and early 1940’s,  just order my book entitled #2503 .  That was my address when I was growing up.   You can read about the fun and living history and great love we experienced in #2503.  In that place that was a real home and not just a house.

My books are each $10 including postage.  Just send check or money order to P.O. Box 2249, Benton,AR  72018.  Will get one of those special books right out to you.   You will love it.   Thanks,     Bet

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

