GREAT CAKE!

5 12 2011

Was texting with my daughter today and told her I was making Rum Cakes.  These are not for Christmas giving just yet although I will make some for that, too. But at our house we have four birthdays to celebrate next weekend, so I made four cakes as gifts for Happy Birthday!  Took me less than 2 hours to make all four cakes.  I will be making 8 more of these for Christmas next week.

Anyway, my daughter suggested I blog about the cake as it is absolutely and positively delicious.  Also very easy to make and everyone just loves the cake.  In fact, they ask me to make them another one  next Christmas.  One year, I made 25 because so many people kept asking for them.  Don’t do that anymore, but will probably make a dozen or so.

So here is the recipe for that delicious, scrumptous Rum Cake.   Combine in a mixing bowl – 1 yellow cake mix, any kind will do.  In fact, the cheaper ones usually make the best cakes.  1 small package vanilla pudding mix.    4 whole eggs,    1 cup water,   1/2 cup vegetable oil,  1/2 tsp Rum Flavoring.  Mix all together until smooth, then beat slightly.

Grease tube cake pan.  Pour mixture into pan and bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes to 1 hour.

Make icing while the cake is cooking.  Mix together in small pan – 1 Cup Sugar, 1 Stick Margarine, 1/2 Cup Water and 1/2 Tsp Rum Flavoring.  Boil about 1 minutes.

When cake is done, leave in pan and prick all over with toothpick.  Then pour about 1/2 hot icing mixture over hot cake.  Let sit for a minute so cake can absorb all the mixture.  Then turn cake out upside down onto large sheet of aluminum foil.  Prick again with toothpick.  Pour rest of mixture over cake.  Wrap tightly with aluminum foil.  Wait about 4 days before slicing cake.  Delicious!

This recipe is extremely easy and makes you look like one great cook.   Enjoy!

If you like this recipe, you will really like my cookbook entitled Bet’s Cookbook.  It has 120 pages of easy, cheap, delicious recipes to wow everyone you know. Also has lots of tips that make cooking ‘easy as pie.’

You can order direct from me at P.O. Box 2249, Benton, AR  72018 for just $10 in check or money order.  Any three of my books are only $25.  Look up my books on booksbybet.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

