MORE OLD TIMES

30 10 2011

Hi”  Haven’t been writing as much lately,  always something else to do, but try to get back with it.  Thanks for reading the stuff I write.  Makes me feel pretty good to think that someone else enjoys my writing.

I was watching an old movie tonight and it made some more of those old times surface in my head.  My mother used to keep the car on Saturdays.  That is a whole story in itself.  We took Daddy to work early in the afternoon.  He worked on the local newspaper and his hours were from 3 to whatever time the paper was finished printing.  That might be 11 or it might be 4:30 the next morning depending on the news and views.  Anyway, Mother would keep the car and buy the groceries and run the errands for the week.

We kids rode around with her and usually sat in the car at the grocery store.  She said it made her nervous for us to help her buy groceries.  I can certainly understand that!  My kids used to make me pretty nervous in the grocery store too.  Sometimes they were  busy filling the basket for me while I was checking prices.  Or if they saw a friend, they might be racing around the shelves playing tag.  Not much fun to shop with kids.  I used to fill one basket with groceries and had another one with kids.  I pulled one and pushed the other one.  I was in my mid thirties when I had my last child.  One of the checkers in the grocery store asked me one day – ‘what’d you do, honey, wait late?’  I could have hit her with one of the canned goods, but didn’t bother, just smiled sweetly and said, ‘I have a few more at home too’.

But to get back to the story of Mother keeping the car.  We kids waited in the car and played ‘I see something you don’t see’.  I think they call that ‘I Spy’ now, but it didn’t have a formal name back then.

Anyway, when Mother got through  buying groceries, she would sometimes go further downtown and pick up a few items at the ‘dime store’.  That was the name for the five and dime in our area.  After she bought whatever she needed there, she might treat herself to a sheet of music for the piano.  Mother loved piano music.  She never played herself, but she sure loved to hear us play.  My brother and I both took piano lessons for many years, but it was classical stuff.  Hated that!!!  Eventually we both learned to play by chords and then could play any of the sheet music that Mother bought.

She would tell us to look around the store while she went downstairs where the sheet music was displayed.  That was also where the fish were displayed and we could spend some time watching the fish if we wanted to.  The girl who helped her in that department would show her all sorts of music.  Then Mother would choose one or two pieces and the girl would sit down at the piano and play the song.  If it was Mother’s wish, she would also sing the song.  Mother loved hearing the piano being played and she also enjoyed the girl singing the song for her.  What a treat!  Mother looked forward to that for weeks sometimes.  That has not really been that long ago.  Only about 50 years, give or take a few.   The world really was a little quieter and a little happier then I guess.

When we got home that day, Mother would ask one of us to play the music for her while she put the groceries away.  It was a nice day.  It was a nice time.  It was sure a nice family.  And that piece of sheet music was pretty nice, too.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

