CARE WITH DIGNITY

19 07 2011

Every person is entitled to being treated with human dignity.  That includes those who are unfortunate enough to require care in their daily lives.  This includes those elderly, infirm, babies and the handicapped. I read every day in the newspapers of someone mistreating a child or an elderly person.   Sometimes it is those who cannot defend themselves who are the most mistreated.  I think that is a terrible thing.

People should be more mindful of each other and help those who need help.  Why would anyone want to harm an innocent child or an elderly person who has lost his way through this life.

In my case, I have had to depend on caretakers or babysitters a lot over the years.  Sometimes, I could tell when the person had not been kind.  Or if my child had been ignored or mistreated in any way.  My child requires a lot of assistance from time to time, but mostly she just needs to have some attention paid to her.

The last babysitter I had fed my child her dinner at 3 in the afternoon and then had her in bed before 7, telling her she was too tired and needed to go to bed.  This then gave the sitter the whole evening for herself.  I consider that to be absolutely disgusting.  My child did not know what time it was or when she should have gone to bed.  I would not have known about this except that one of my other children called and was upset over this.  Should not have happened.  To add to this story, then when my child could not sleep, he was blamed for staying awake all night and keeping the sitter up.

Another time, there was some problem and the sitter told other people that she was knocked in the floor. When I heard about this – from others – I checked into it.  Come to find out that was not the case at all.  My child had been pushed and she was the one who ended up in the floor.

On another occasion, my child had ‘acted up’ while sitting in her chair and had fallen to the floor.  Come to find out that she was acting up, that’s for sure, because someone else was allowed to go into her room and pilfer through her things and she had to sit in the chair while all this was going on.  I probably would have ‘acted up’ too.

When a person takes a job as a caretaker/babysitter, they should plan on doing  good job and taking proper care of their charge.  Or not bother to call themselves a caretaker/babysitter at all.  And it most certainly is not fair to spread stories about their charge.  This just adds insult to injury, lies, lies and more lies.

Needless to say, I no longer have that sitter and do not plan on hiring another one.  But I still maintain that a person is entitled to be treated with human dignity, no matter what their  problem may be.  As is said, ‘Whatever you do to the least of these, you do also unto Me.’   Would do well for the caretakers and babysitters of the world to remember that.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

