MORE SEWING

3 04 2011

I was laughing  to myself about my younger daughter  learning to sew.   I thought the sewing was such a good idea.  Well, at least it would be nice to know something about it.  So, I approached my younger daughter with the idea.  She was always one of those kids that never complained about anything and everything I suggested was o.k. with her.

Bought her a sewing machine and the man who delivered it showed her how to thread the needle and put it all together.  Forgot all about that bobbin.  Oh, that bobbin is really something.  I never could manage the bobbin.  Just beyond me.  But then most machines are.  I can run the washer, the dryer, and the other necessary items for keeping house, but that bobbin just was too much.

Next,  off we went to the sewing store (whatever they call it).  She decided she would make a skirt.  That would be easy enough.  So we bought all the necessary ingredients.  First was the pattern, then the material, then that blessed zipper.  Just the right size of course.  Then the thread and whatever was needed.

My daughter cut out the pattern, pinned it to the material and set out to sew the seam together.   She did a really good and fast job.  She had the skirt all cut out and ready to put together by the afternoon.   She never said much while doing any of the sewing chores.  She just seemed to be enjoying it and was quiet while she was learning, (I thought).

After we ate lunch, she sewed the whole skirt together, put the band on it and even got that zipper installed just perfectly.

Then she sat downstairs on the floor, leaning against her bed while she sewed the hem by hand.  After she was all through, I asked her if she wanted to try it on.  She said, ‘no’.  Then she handed me the skirt and said, ‘don’t ever ask me to do that again.’

With that, she turned and put all the ingredients away.  I left the room because I didn’t want her to see me laughing.  And I’m still laughing about it all.  She did what I asked and did it graciously.  She didn’t complain.  She didn’t fuss.  She didn’t even tell me she didn’t want to do the sewing.   But she, like me, did not have any interest in sewing.

Guess I had to learn that one the hard way.  As I said, I’m still laughing about it.  But I never did ask her to do that again.  And she never showed any interest whatsoever in sewing of any kind.  She never wore the skirt and as far as I know, she never even tried it on.

Oh well, everybody has different interests.  Such is life.   I have a lot of memories that make me laugh.  Such fun.  Wouldn’t have missed my part for the world.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

