FRIEND

28 03 2011

Another friend died this weekend.  I attended her Funeral Mass this morning.  We were not really close friends or anything like that.  We just saw each other now and then if there was a wedding shower or a baby shower at the Church.  Or maybe we passed at Mass or sat near each other in the pews.  But she was still a friend as far as I was concerned.  I talked to her a couple of times on the phone over the years.  Sometimes we passed going in or out of the Eucharistic Adoration Chapel.  She was always nice and acted as though she was glad to see me or hear from me.  It was a good relationship.  One that you think about now and then.

Her husband died several years ago.  I had seen him and talked with him from time to time over the years.  His slow death was one of those in and out of the hospital type of wearing down until he could go no longer.   It wore her down, too.  I would still see her but not as much.  But I  heard about her from time to time and knew she was doing o.k.

When my husband died a couple of years later, she made a point of looking me up.  As she held my hand and told me how sorry she was,  she said,  ‘Whatever you do, don’t sign anything.  Never sign any papers.  Just don’t sign anything.’   And then she was gone.

I thought about all that while the Mass was going on this morning.  I appreciated her concern for me, thinking that I might be confused and might just sign something I would be sorry for.  I didn’t plan on signing anything anyway, but I still knew that she worried about that for me.  And I thanked her once again in my mind.

Sometimes, it is the little things you remember about someone.  She was concerned enough to make a point of talking to me and warning me in case I might be in some sort of danger.  I still appreciate all that.  That is what a friend does.  A friend cares.  A friend looks you up and tells you that they care.  A friend doesn’t have to be around all the time in order to be a real friend.

So, this morning I told another friend goodbye.   May she rest in peace.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

