DEVOTION TO MARY

24 02 2011

When I first became a Catholic, it was hard for me to accept the prayers to The Blessed Virgin Mary.  I did not really understand that.  It took me years to really understand what I was doing.  But then, I’m not always the sharpest knife in the drawer so this is not unusual for me.  Sometimes, it takes me a lot of thinking and understanding to accept something.  But then, I had this daughter who needed so much help.  She had problem after problem for years and years.  Always sickly, always needing something or another pill or another doctor.  I saw her suffering constantly.   Something had to be done.  

And so, in my agony as a mother, I turned more and more to the Blessed Virgin with my prayers.  ‘Please help me, please.  You see what is going on.  Help me.’  And I came to realize that what I was doing was asking The Blessed Virgin Mary to ask her Son to help me.  I had already been told this numerous times, but it finally got into my head and then I could rest with that thought.  

As any mother would know, if you want a really big favor from her son, you can ask the mother to ask her son to do it for you.  Would work almost every time.  And so this is how it works with The Blessed Virgin Mary, too.  You want something really special from her Son?  Then ask the Mother to intercede for you.  

Of course you don’t have to do this.  A lot of people get their back up about this and say things like ‘I don’t need to go through anyone.  My prayers are heard by God Himself.’  Or ‘why would I waste my time praying to The Blessed Virgin when I can go directly to Her Son and get the result I want’.  Well, then, don’t pray to Her if you don’t want to.  It is only a chance that maybe, just maybe, your prayers might be heard a little faster or a little louder.  Who knows.  I certainly don’t.  

But I’m going to take that chance and ask The Blessed Virgin Mary to intercede for me on anything special.  It doesn’t cost me anything and who knows, it might just make things a lot better.  You might try it, too, sometime.  Works for me.  Might just work for you.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

