SNOWBOUND

10 01 2011

Well, I’m still snowbound.  The weather man says most of the country is snowbound.   I miss being able to jump in my car and run to the store or to the post office or to pick up an item at the drug store.  But what I miss most of all is being able to Visit with Jesus each day.  

I have been in the habit of running by Church for a few moments every day just to say ‘Thanks’ or ‘Love You’ or   ‘I’m here again.’   All it takes is a few moments out of my day and I really miss being able to do that.

As I explained in my Visit with Jesus blog earlier, Catholics believe that Jesus is truly present in every Catholic Church all over the world.  That is why we bless ourselves when we enter the Church.   We make the Sign of the Cross after dipping our finger in the Holy Water.  This is a cleansing of sorts, making us more acceptable to enter into the presence of Christ.  We always genuflect before we enter the pew.  We  do this as a sign of respect because we  believe Jesus is there before us, either on the Altar itself or in the Tabernacle as I explained before.  Then,  we kneel before His Presence to speak to Him and tell Him whatever we have on our mind.  After that, we can sit down and continue our visit.  Or we have the option of continuing to kneel.  That is up to us. 

I know I can talk to Jesus anytime, anywhere,  and I do that all during the day each day.  But to come before Him and actually be in His Presence means much more to me.  So I will be glad when the snow is gone and I can once again jump in my car and go to Visit with Jesus.  

Have you visited with Him lately?  If not, hurry.  He is waiting for you – always.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

