It’s the Little Things We Do

15 06 2009

Just thought I would tell you of something I do to make people happy.  It does not cost me much and takes very little time.  But it makes a whole lot of people very, very happy.

I received a calendar from a local children’s charity last year.  On it were listed the birth dates of the children they take care of.  Some months have 1 or 2, other months may have 20 names on it.  I went to the local dollar store and bought several boxes of birthday cards.  Each box cost only $1.

Then around the first of each month, I address a birthday card to each child who is on that month’s list.  Then I also enclose a $1 bill.  I usually mail all of that month’s cards at one time because otherwise I might forget to mail them later and I would not want any of the children to be disappointed.  I have received several thank you notes from children telling me how happy it made them to get the card and the $1 bill. And also telling me that it is something they all look forward to.  Total cost is very minimal.

I also send birthday cards from my retarded daughter to all her friends at school.  I follow the same procedure.  I have a list of who has a birthday each month.  I let her scribble her name somewhere on the card.  Then I enclose a $1 bill.  I address the card on the outside saying who it is to and that it is from my daughter.  Then she carries the cards to school and a teacher distributes them to the children.  Again, I send them all at one time.  The date does not matter much to the child and they are extremely happy with the thoughtfulness of the card and the excitement of receiving the dollar.

I have a friend who takes the time to stop by and read the newspaper to a friend who is bedridden.  Another friend calls the local senior citizen center and makes arrangements to take lunch to a friend once in awhile.  Then she stays and visits for a few minutes.  The visit is far more important than the meal.

One of my neighbors likes to bake.  But she and husband cannot eat a whole cake.  So she  keeps wrapped cake slices in her freezer.  If someone is ill or needs a boost that day, she takes a piece of cake to them.

It is the thought that counts you know.  It doesn’t take much money to make others happy.  Just a willing heart and a helping hand.  Give it a try.  You will be the happiest of all!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

